José González write and record music for the Ben Stiller movie

José González write and record music for the Ben Stiller movie The Secret life of Walter Mitty (in theatres on Christmas day)

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty: Music From And Inspired By The Motion Picture soundtrack (Republic Records).

The album will be available in stores and through all digital retailers December 17, 2013. Meanwhile, the film, starring Ben Stiller and Kristen Wiig, releases in theaters on Christmas day through 20th Century Fox.

The soundtrack has a personal touch from its stars: Ben Stiller curated the entire tracklist, becoming deeply involved in the making of the record. Moreover, this is the first Kristen Wiig has ever performed on a soundtrack. She punctuates a David Bowie classic with her own flair on the “Space Oddity (Mitty Mix)”—a standout from the collection.
The soundtrack features a bevy of songs from the movie as well as some special new originals inspired by the story itself. Another centerpiece is José González’s emotional and enthralling “Stay Alive”. Penned by Ryan Adams, it’s as unique as it is unforgettable.
Elsewhere on the soundtrack, “Dirty Paws” is an artfully catchy staple from Icelandic alternative folk impresarios Of Monsters and Men, while Jack Johnson contributes his own fresh take on “Escape (The Pina Colada Song)” alongside cuts from Bahamas, Grace Mitchell, Junip, and more. The tracklisting captures the adventurous spirit of the movie with its own distinct charm.

Ben Stiller directs and stars in The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, James Thurber’s classic story of a day-dreamer who escapes his anonymous life by disappearing into a world of fantasies filled with heroism, romance and action. When his job along with that of his co-worker (Kristen Wiig) are threatened, Walter takes action in the real world embarking on a global journey that turns into an adventure more extraordinary than anything he could have ever imagined.


1. José González “Step Out”
2. Of Monsters and Men “Dirty Paws”
3. José González “Stay Alive”
4. Junip “Far Away”
5. Junip “Don’t Let It Pass”
6. Rogue Wave “Lake Michigan”
7. Jack Johnson “Escape (The Pina Colada Song)”
8. Bahamas featuring The Weather Station “Don’t You Want Me”
9. Rogue Valley “The Wolves & The Ravens”
10. David Bowie “Space Oddity (Mitty Mix)” Featuring Kristen Wiig
11. José González “#9 Dream”
12. Grace Mitchell “Maneater”
For more info please contact Republic Records

“A new Forrest Gump, fantastic”


The video for Stay Alive features José González as the character of Walter Mitty. See the video on Youtube

For the full soundtrack, visit iTunes

Listen to the album on Spotify

For the score, visit

Follow José González on Facebook

Follow Imperial Recordings on Facebook